Pakistan squad for ICC World Cup 2023 announced

After extensive consultations and a brief delay, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced the 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 on Friday.

The much-anticipated national squad for the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup 2023 was revealed today.

During a press conference at Gaddafi Stadium, Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq officially unveiled the squad.

Addressing the press conference, Inzamam-ul-Haq remarked, “The World Cup is the most significant event in a cricketer’s life, and I extend my congratulations to all the cricketers who have earned their spots in the squad through their impressive performances. This team has consistently performed exceptionally well over the past few years, and that’s why we have put our trust in this group.”

“I firmly believe that this squad has the potential to bring the World Cup trophy to Pakistan and make the entire nation proud with their outstanding performances. It’s time to rally behind our team and provide them with the support they need,” he added.

The Pakistan squad includes the following players: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Usama Mir.

Fast bowler Naseem Shah, who had sustained a shoulder injury during a match against India on September 11th during the Asia Cup, has been replaced by Hasan Ali and ruled out of the tournament. After thorough medical examinations and consultations with leading medical experts, Naseem has been advised to undergo surgery. His expected recovery time is three to four months. Naseem Shah expressed his disappointment on X (formerly known as Twitter), saying, “With a heavy heart, I’m sharing that I will not be part of this amazing team representing our beloved country. While I’m disappointed, I believe everything is in Allah’s hands. InshahAllah, I will be back on the field very soon. Thank you to all my fans for the prayers.”

The selectors have also named three traveling reserves: wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Haris, mystery spinner Abrar Ahmed, and fast bowler Zaman Khan. This announcement has been highly anticipated by cricket enthusiasts nationwide as it marks a pivotal moment in Pakistan’s quest to compete on the global stage in the ICC World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *